Forum HomeMember ListSearchRegister Login

Statistics
Users 10,148
Products 322
Reviews 713
Views 5,968,974

« July 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Random Products -
[Snares]
Remo Black MAX
goobs22xx

[ Snares ]
Evans MX 5


[ Snares ]
Evans Hybrid Snare S


[ Snares ]
Remo Tendura
goobs22xx

[ Snares ]
Remo Powerstroke 77


[ Snares ]
Evans MX 7


[ Snares ]
· more ·


 
Home » Heads » Snares

 
Remo Falam II
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 23705 4/28/2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $35.00 8.2
66RemoFalamII.jpg


66RemoFalamII.jpg









Description:
FALAM® II
FALAM®II (pronounced Fuh-LAM, which is short for FAbric LAminate) heads were built specifically for high volume, high tension Snare drum playing.


Available in 13-14-15" sizes, these are Remo’s strongest heads, the first drumhead ever constructed of Kevlar® and features a high-tech, crimped hoop, built to be virtually unbreakable.


These heads are offered in multiple finishes - EBONY™, Smooth White, and Natural, and are available with or without a Clear Dot reinforcement. A fourth finish, Coated, also is available without a Clear Dot.


Blast uses smooth white FLAM® II snare tops while the Blue Devils, Santa Clara Vanguard, and Glassmen use the drier sounding snare side head, which is offered in smooth white to give them the snare sound and strength they desire.


*Note - From Remo's website
Keywords: Remo Falam flam fiber kevlar
 
Posts: 41
Registered: August 2002
Location: Stateboro



Author
goobs22xx



Registered: August 2002
Location: Stateboro
Review Date: 12/12/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Durable, high-tension
Cons: Hard on hands

The head came on the used drum that I purchased, so I have no price to reference.


In order for this head to sound good (providing the bottom head and guts are tuned properly) it needs to be cracked to high heavens, leaving an almost concrete-like feel to it. Because of this, while playing, there is a lot of vibrational feedback that comes back to the player's hands after striking the drum, regardless of the type of sticks used. After a few hours of playing, the hands start to go numb, and they also start to ache once the feeling comes back. While some people like that type of cranked surface, I do not, as I prefer a more mylar-like feel. Uncranking it a little so that there is some give helps with the hands, but the sound suffers, so it is a trade-off.


As far as durability, I have been using the head on my 14" sFz for about three years (not playing every day, of course) and it has not pulled or torn at all, even after about a dozen removals for cleaning.


For those who long to play on a table-top, this head is probably the ticket. For those who like some give, look elsewhere.

------------------------------
[color:"purple"]01-02 Calvary High - Bass
02-03 Calvary High- Drumline Captain/Snare
03-04 Calvary High - Drumline Captain/Snare[/color]
[color:"maroon"]04-05 South Effingham High - Snare[/color]
[color:"blue"]05-06 Georgia Southern University Front Ensemble[/color]
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 12/18/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tough; Built to last
Cons: Sandpaper feel. It wears down my snare stick tips

It seems to be a good product. My line really hasn't had a problem with them. Like he said, it has to be cranked really tight. The sticks respond like crazy when you hit the head. The vibration is very excessive. It left my hands feeling numb in the morning. Other than those things, I have no prblem with them. Then again, I haven't really experienced many types of snare heads.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
Fantomas



Registered: June 2004
Review Date: 1/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice crisp tight sound.
Cons: Not much of a snare response. But it's still there.

I have a Remo Ebony Falam II. It is a good head if tuned right. The response is not all that great. But it's still there. Very table-top sound. Which I like.

------------------------------
Ray Weikel
SCV '00 (Snare)
SCV '01 (Snare)
Cadets '02 (Snare)
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
studsnare27



Registered: June 2004
Location: Imperial Mo
Review Date: 1/30/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): these really are unbreakable and sound great
Cons: i don't think there is anything wrong with them

this product is great, the sound quality is spectacular, they are unbreakable, i mean what else could a snare player ask for for snare drum


But i do have a question do they make the Kevlar heads for tenors?

------------------------------
My mom says that my line is better than yours!

Intrepid Percussion Ensemble
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 6/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great sound,very durable, excellent response
Cons: Feels very hard when tuned high.

My high school lines marches these, and they are excellent heads. They have a great sound when tuned high, but not so great when they start to drop. We've marched these one season and didn't break a single one. The only problem I find with them, as previous reviewers have stated is that they get concrete hard when tuned real high. You get excellent response, but they can do a number on your arms. Overall, great product.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 6/30/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good sound, good response.
Cons:

I use the ebony version, and see virtually no problems. our line marches them and we have never had anyone complain about pain in the arms, hands, wrists, etc. maybe we are bred differently in ohio? i can't really explain that. However, we do typically need to replace each head about once a season. they need to be occasionally cranked up to maintain the sound and eventually, they rip around the rims. But, the sound is fantastic and i love the response. they have a very tight sound on our sfz's and are an excellent choice.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
Garfield_Rules


Registered: November 2004
Location: Dalton, GA
Review Date: 8/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $34.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great wet clap sound. If tuned right.
Cons: Difficult to tighten at high tension.

I bought this head a little under a month ago and I am pretty much please. Its very VERY durable and it has a great sound if you tune it right. Its also kind of difficult to get that wet sound that you might want. If your going to buy this drum head, be prepared to have some wrist pain.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 10/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great sound, durable
Cons: Relatively more expensive

PLEASE NOTE: This review is for the Falam II Snare Side head. There wasn't a separate section for it, so I'll post it here.


The snare side heads are the same material (kevlar) as the Falam batters, just thinner. It is still a high tension head and can be cranked very high.


We just put these on about a week ago and the difference from the Ambassadors was night and day. The Falams give a much drier snare sound (more like BD), but the projection is a lot better. Expect even better results when fitted with a projector. If cranked really high, the drum may develop a ringing overtone. Back 20 feet away from it though, and the sound will be a lot more pleasant. The trick is to find a happy medium.


All of our experiences with the Falam Snare Side head was on a Yamaha 14" SFZ, with a Black Max on top. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 (if I could, I would've said 9.5) is because of the higher price over an Ambassador.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 11/30/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I can't seem to break one
Cons: None that I have seen

I hear stories all of the time about their FaLam's pulling or breaking after short use, but as I see it they are only stories. I have been pretty rough on this head and it still sounds great. The head has traveled, been beaten to death, and taken up to full tension and brought back down mutiple times times in only a few hours; I was experimenting with overtone control. If you like using the Kevlar head pick up the FaLam II at your local shop. You won't regret it. I haven't.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 1/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $37.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): when tight has a great sound
Cons: detunes quickly

This head started out amazing. It sounded great when i cranked it up, with a CRACK snare sound. It was a little bit tough to tune, but overall was great. Then about 3 months later the edge of the head began to detune almost immediately and then a week or so later i founf the edge of the head to be unraveling, making the head unplayable.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
JosephCoss



Registered: January 2009
Location: St. Paul
Review Date: 4/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $33.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Durable, clean and crisp sound
Cons: Center dots fall off when detuning.

The Falam heads are crisp, dry, and durable heads. However, after detuning my ebony (with center dot), the center dot peeled off the head...


Don't get the heads with center dots, because the center dots wont stay on anyway when the head is de-tensioned.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  



Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.