Forum HomeMember ListSearchRegister Login

Statistics
Users 10,201
Products 322
Reviews 714
Views 5,981,681

« September 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Random Products -
[Multi-tenors]
Pearl Carbonply Teno
kevin_fu

[ Multi-tenors ]
Pearl PSMT - 60234 A
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
Stingray Unknown
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
Pearl Championship S
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
Mapex Multi-Toms


[ Multi-tenors ]
Dynasty Quad/Quint/S
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
· more ·


 
Home » Instruments » Battery » Multi-tenors

Previous Product    Next Product
Yamaha FieldCorps Tenors
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 33044 5/3/2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers None indicated 7.0
6666Yamahafieldcorpstenors.gif


6666Yamahafieldcorpstenors.gif









Description: Designed for top marching programs, Field-Corps marching toms offer an excellent balance of tone, projection, weight and durability.


6" Shell
The 8-ply birch shell on the 6" tom (MQ-8106) maintains shell integrity without a reinforcement ring and projects well.


8" through 14" Shells
Steel reinforcement rings are located below the bearing edge of these all birch shells. This allows for the drumhead to contact a wood bearing edge, maximizing the tone while providing shell integrity under high tension tuning.


Air-Seal System Shells
All Yamaha marching toms are made using the Air-Seal System which ensures that shells start round and stay round; an in-round shell tunes clearer and provides a pure fundamental tone.


Rims
Steel 2.3 mm. rims ensure true tuning and shape retention, even under extreme tension and heavy rim shots.


Lugs
Zinc alloy lug casings with reinforced walls and webbing provide superior strength for high tensions.


Maximum Tonal Projection Cut
The Maximum Tonal Projection cut (MTP), is designed to project a cutting, focused tone.


Nylon and Steel Washers
Nylon and steel washers allow smooth tuning at high tensions.


Shell sizes are 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 14 inch. 6" drum is 8 ply, all others 6 ply.


Configurations are
10-12-13 and 12-13-14 tris, 8-10-12-13 and 10-12-13-14 and up to 2 spocks.


*From the Yamaha website
Keywords: Tenors squint quint Yamaha
 
Posts: 41
Registered: August 2002
Location: Stateboro



Author
goobs22xx



Registered: August 2002
Location: Stateboro
Review Date: 5/28/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice tone. Lighter than most due to shallow shell depth.
Cons: Factory thumb screws are unreliable and easily breakable.

The Yamaha Fieldcorps tenors, just as with all drums, sound great when the tuning is done correctly.


The smaller set (8-10-12-13) is great for programs with smaller or younger players, since they weigh less than most other manufacturers shells. The 8" drum does seem to carry less than the other sized shells, but in an indoor arena or in a smaller sized band, it's not noticeable enough to make a difference.


The main bar of the stock support system is made of the same aluminum tubing as the Yamaha Stadium Stands and allows the optional spock drum(s) to be positioned either closer to the center of the setup or closer to the 3 and 4 drums. While this setup works well and allows flexible mounting distances, the location of the mounting slot on the small set where the spock(s) can be added or removed is in a prime mounting area. If it were little more toward the end of the bar, it would enable better placement in a two spock configuration. It is unknown if this is an issue on the larger model (10-12-13-14.)


I do have an issue with the construction of the drums. The thumbscrews that are used on the J-rod mounts and the spock mounts are pan headed Allen screws with a plastic insert for better finger grip and leverage. While this is a nice idea for dynamic changes of settings, the plastic that is used is not very durable, and tends to break after limited use. It would be easier if they just left the Allen screws bare or made the ntire screw out of one piece of metal.


Another problem are the connectors in-between the individual drums. While this design allows for the lightest possible weight of the mounting equipment, the vibration of playing the drums does have the tendency to loosen up the screws that bind the shells together, despite the lock washers that are installed. This causes the playing surfaces to become uneven and the whole setup to become unstable if left loose too long. I think a better locking device such as the lock star shaped washers might hold a little better.


A side effect of the tube mounting system is that when the drums are moved to the raised position, the spocks remain in place. While some may feel this really isn't much of a problem, when the drums are set down on the ground on the bottom of the shells and someone pulls up the harness in order to put the drums on, the bottom of the spock drum(s) scrapes along the ground or floor. This wears away the bottom part of the spock and mars the surface of the drum shell enough to make it look a little messy or unkempt.


It is possible that all of these problems are non-issues if these sets are purchased with a different rail-mounting system such as the XL Omnirail.


The drums themselves are excellent and the rims do not bend as much or as quickly as I have seen other manufacturer's equipment do. The metal shell reinforcement does an excellent job of keeping the shells round, which provides better surfaces for the heads to seat onto and contributes to longer head life. This definitely helps cash-strapped organizations by reducing replacement head costs.


The shallow shells provide very clear articulations, and a less boomy sound, which fits with some styles of writing.


I highly recommend the drums themselves, but not the rail mount system. Go with a third party mount to get that all-around excellent setup.

------------------------------
[color:"purple"]01-02 Calvary High - Bass
02-03 Calvary High- Drumline Captain/Snare
03-04 Calvary High - Drumline Captain/Snare[/color]
[color:"maroon"]04-05 South Effingham High - Snare[/color]
[color:"blue"]05-06 Georgia Southern University Front Ensemble[/color]
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
ExileFntMan



Registered: October 2003
Location: San Diego, California
Review Date: 12/21/2003 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light, good for new players
Cons: Little or no resonance on the field

Our school bought 3 sets of quints from Yamaha 4 years ago. The pros are that they are light, and for newer players or smaller players, they work perfect. However, there are two major cons. On the field, there is little or no resonance from these tenors. Various judges have told us to tune our tenors higher, when the truth is if we tune them any higher then we'll pull heads, and when we tune them lower, they sound even worse. The other major con is we have had them for only 4 years and have treated them well, and they are falling apart. Screws within the lug cases stripping, one of the bars is broken from the inside and they fall apart. I recommend these for either middle school lines or winter drumlines, because they sound great indoors and are light. However, if you want a drumline that sounds good on the field, I recommend you just go with Pearl.
Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepageVisit this user's products  
JTenerz


Registered: April 2003
Location: Wheaton Illinois
Review Date: 12/27/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light and durable
Cons: Spock mounting

I used yamaha field corp tenors for the last 4 years and have never had a problem with them they have held up through alot they are on there 6th season of use and are in great condition. These drum travel around alot, they dont have a decent case and are played on constantly, through all that they are in great condition. The only problems i have encountered with them are. The mounting of the spock drums. you ahve to buy a seperate mount unlike pearl drums where it just screws on to the back bar.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 5/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light for their sizes, excellent sound
Cons:

My high school uses Yamaha SFZ snares and 8200 basses and tenors and wow....the sound is incredible. The shallow/low cut shells also lead to lighter drums, which is a great improvement. We had a cowbell mounted on the drum 3 for winter season, which made them about 8 pounds heavier, but still awesome drums.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 9/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light, Durable
Cons: Tuning problem

Ours are five years old and have been throught alot. They look great still and nothing is broke on them. Whenever I tune them, I always seem to get one not to resonate like the rest. Rims are quite durable. Nobody before me ever played them as much as me, and they have not changed since I started playing them. I have been told to tune them quite high, and they are and they resonate a lot better when higher.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
csHawks


Registered: April 2009
Location: Iowa, USA
Review Date: 3/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): durable
Cons: poor setup, mediocre sound quality

Yamaha tenors aren't the greatest tenors to get. The rims are pretty high, the bar that the spock mounts to is setup weird. My high school tenor line uses these. The sound quality of these drums isn't bad, its just not great or anything. These tenors aren't bad, there's just better ones out there.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
admiralriker


Registered: December 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Review Date: 5/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice looking
Cons: Sound's terrible, Spock Mounting, Unstable

I wouldnt buy a set of these tenors or quints for $50. These are used at the school I'm at now and they are TERRIBLE. Not only do they not resonate AT ALL, but the dang things loosen and the connectors between the drum loosen up. This causes the drums to start changing angles and its just terrible. Spock doesnt move with the carrier? What a crock! I agree with above review of the spock shell grinding on ground. NOT worth the extra maintennance. I would rather play on those Dynasty's again....
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
onespockadam



Registered: June 2008
Location: Texas
Review Date: 5/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well rounded, solid cradle, goes for a nice high sound.
Cons: Spock mounting

I play on a set of Yamaha 6-10-12-13-14 at school, and if you don't mind shallow shells (which makes getting a good low sound harder); then these quads are great.


The mounting is (in my opinion): better than pearl, but worse than Dynasty. I've never seen a set of Yamahas go twisted because of bad mounting. As long as you tighten the bolts on the inside of the shells every once in a while, you'll be fine. The mounting however; has one flaw. The flaw is how the spock is mounted to the backbar, but it can be fixed in a few hours if you drill the spock to drum one and two. Granted, you don't have to do that with dynasty's but if you have these drums it's not a big deal.


As far as tuning goes, I enjoy how these sound with Pinstripes on them. Like I referred to earlier, these quads are really meant for a higher tone, and that is where they resonate well.


Overall, you can't go wrong with these quads. Just remember to buy some bolts to drill the spock with.

------------------------------
VRHS
Quads 08-11

Troopers Drum and Bugle Corps
Quads 11-as long as my back holds up
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  



Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.