Forum HomeMember ListSearchRegister Login

Statistics
Users 10,168
Products 322
Reviews 712
Views 5,939,280

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Multi-tenors]
Vic Firth HeavyHitte
John

[ Multi-tenors ]
Heavyhitterpads Quad
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
Xymox Vega Marching


[ Multi-tenors ]
Xymox Murray Gusseck
goobs22xx

[ Multi-tenors ]
Vic Firth HeavyHitte
John

[ Multi-tenors ]
Mike Stevens ModQuad
eltrut

[ Multi-tenors ]
· more ·


 
Home » Accessories » Practice Pads » Multi-tenors

 
Xymox Vega Marching Tenor Pad XYM-XPQ6V
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 28799 11/8/2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
71% of reviewers $110.00 6.7
4351XYM-XPQ6V.jpg


4351XYM-XPQ6V.jpg
supersize









Description: The entire Sean Vega Signature lineup of Xymox Tenor Pads feature "cut-away" playing surfaces that will train the player to hit only the area of the playing surface that produces the best tone on a real set of Marching Tenors.


Keywords: Xymox Vega Tenor Practice pad
ratingratingratingratingratingratingrating
 


Author
animefreak7619



Registered: September 2004
Review Date: 9/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: feel of the playing surface, spock bar

This pad although looking pretty cool, doesnt feel very good. The guy at the booth told me that the laminates where not replaceable, and if you dropped the pad on the bar, I am not sure your spocks would still be apart of the set up(theyd probably break off). The rim idea was neat, but you dont really need that I dont think if you already have the pad cut at the first playable area of the drum. The gussek pad is very similar to this pad.


Not buyin it........

------------------------------
go in the coner and get better. quote from center snare fall season 03. everett high school
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 12/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): GREAT Sizing, Rim feature is awesome
Cons: It's HEAVY....

This is a really bad pad...a lot of us probably think that, but Xymox is an ok brand (tenor pad-wise). This is the ONLY product, however, that i would use by Xymox. The Rim spacers are great, it's the ONLY pad out right now that offers that. and if you do scrapes and sweeps as much as i do, you'll really appreciate that. the best feature, i'd have to say, is the fact that it has cutaway surfaces so you can get a good really good feel for where you play on a real set of tenors.But,the cutaways are also featured on the VF Heavy Hitter. The VF heavy hitter has a more realistic feel...this one offers more, but is more really better? Like any product, it has it's up's and down's but I think it's an ok tenor pad. Not really my choice.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
seanmc1000


Registered: December 2004
Location: scottsdale,az
Review Date: 3/5/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rims are great
Cons: No mallet rebound, ultra heavy

I ordered this pad offline because it looked spectacular and it also (as mentioned above) is the only pad with the rim feature. When I recieved it I was baffled at the fact that the blue laminates gave my mallets absolutely ZERO rebound. They would literally hit the pad and have no response whatsoever. I tried it with two different types of mallet and no avail. I found this VERY frustrating. The pad works very well on tenor sticks though (or any kind of stick). Despite the fact that it worked fine with sticks, it lacked an authentic tenor feel. It was also rather bulky and a pain to carry around. I would skip this one, it's not really worth your money.
Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepageVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 7/12/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): rim spaces, playing zones
Cons: no as much bounce

I have the 5 drum version of this pad. Ive had it since last September and it has been holding up pretty well.
First the bad
It is a pretty heavy pad. Ive brought it places and sometimes wish i hadnt because of the weight. Another aspect i dont like about it is that the pads split. It may just be because I was playing too hard. There are small cracks in 3 of the pads. It also might be because I was using mallets instead of sticks. But when you recieve the pad it comes with an order form if you ever need more pads, they are pretty cheap too. Another thing that sets this back is the bounce. There isnt a whole lot of it. It can be bad, but I think it can also help. Its sort of like playing on a pillow to help build your chops. It makes you work at really high speeds which will help you get better anyway.


no for the good


The wooden rims are great!! I used this pad when I was practicing for I&E and having the rims really helped. It really helps the player feel where you should be hitting. The same with the pads not being full size. It helps train you where to hit the drums (not in the middle). It is also a very sturdy product. No signs of wear or tear. Except on the rims, some of the wood flakes off, but thats only when you hit them a lot. Since nobody is perfect so its bound to happen.


Hope this review helps, its a good pad and I would reccomend it to other tenor players.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
LHSnareDrumma


Registered: May 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Review Date: 3/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): it's a tenor pad. rims are very cool. decent feel
Cons: can't use mallets on it, but duh!!! it's a pad!

i bought mine used a couple weeks ago at the Fresno WGI regional off of a friend of mine that paid $130 for it.
i REALLY REALLY was not willing to pay over $50 just to buy a pad, and i knew i needed one, now that i'm marching tenors for Fever.
this pad has successfully filled that void in my life.
i really hate how VF's Heavy Hitters feel and sound. they're the only VF products i dislike. just awful
these are much much better. more realistic response, in my opinion.
kinda funny though, cuz the Vega pad's response is nowhere near to the response that you'd get from tenors cranked as much as BD cranks em....
but, w/e
i like my pad.
end of story
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  

Review Date: 3/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rims, Laminates included
Cons: none

I picked one of these up last year for $120. I own both this and a VF Quadro pad and personally I like this one better. The rims are a great feature that the VF pad lacks. Also this pad comes with laminates already on the pads so you don't have to purchase them separately. This pad works well with sticks. I don't know why people continually try to use mallets on pads, it just doesn't work that well no matter what pad you use.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
ybooby



Registered: July 2005
Location: New Jersey
Review Date: 11/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): rims, easy to transport
Cons: rims chip, pads crack

I have both this version and the new version so I will review both.


On this pad they rebound isn't as good as some regular snare pads and the heavy hitter tenor pad. But for me that really wasn't a big deal because it helps build your chops. I liked how the area between the 1 and 2 drums and the spock drums were cut out, it makes it SO MUCH lighter and easier to carry than the VF pad. Being on tour with the lighter pad really makes a difference. The rims between the drums are AWESOME too. Someone said they aren't necessary? That doesn't even make sense.


My only complaints about this are they after a while of hard playing the pads start to crack a little bit. Its not a big deal because you can order replacements, or if you really want you can cut the VF laminates and stick those on instead. And the other is the rims start to get knocked up when playing a lot. Maybe they could use a denser wood next time? Its almost like it flakes apart.


The 2nd vega pad (with the yellow pads)
I got this pad in september of 2006 and its now november of 2009 and there is nothing wrong with it. Its been on 3 DCI tours and its still awesome. The pads on this model are more of a laminate than the old ones were. It gives a really nice feel. Not too bouncy, just enough to make a smooth transition from pad to drum. I've yet to have to replace any of the laminates. Its extremely durable. I'd much rather carry this around than a big honking VF heavy hitter.


This time the only complaint is the rims again. They flake off after a lot of use, but its cool.


I've had multiple (instructors included) that like this pad a lot more than the heavy hitter pad. And is it me or are the drums a little too far apart on the VF?



Old pad gets an 8 and the newer one 10

------------------------------
Madison Scouts '10
Raiders 06-09
Skyliners '05
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  



Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.